Wig-Wags – Please visit new site at http://www.wig-wags.com

Journal of a graduate student in military history and the American Civil War

Chicken Guts

leave a comment »

Yesterday, Dimitri Rotov made my day by calling “the Union war effort” “jiggery-pokery.” Ha! This was in reference to my mention of Bruce Catton’s word for it – slapdash – in my post here.

I went in search of Civil War slang.

This was my favorite find although I’m not entirely sure how to put it in a sentence. I’m open for suggestions.

Chicken Guts – gold braid used to denote officer ranks

Written by Rene Tyree

November 22, 2007 at 6:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

